New Board Members Elected at Annual Member Meeting

By: Marianne Hudson, ACA Executive Director Emeritus

Two new board members were elected at the ACA Annual Members’ Meeting at the 2019 ACA Summit in Chicago.  Three current board members were re-elected for a second term and a new Chair and Vice Chair were elected.  The Board of Directors is currently made up of 15 members and four Chairs Emeritus. 

The Board of Directors focuses on supporting the success of angel investors through industry voice, professional development and public policy advocacy while maintaining the mission and values of the Angel Capital Association.  Selection criteria for board nominations includes, constituent group representation, geographic representation balance, committee service needs and willingness to serve.

The incoming board members bring a wealth of expertise and thought leadership in ACA’s key areas of focus, in addition to proven track records of results and emphasis around ACA’s vision and mission.  The board makeup remains diverse in terms of gender and geographic diversity, with different regions across North America being represented.  Our incoming board members pledge to uphold the vision and goals of ACA while bringing their individual unique voice and ideas to the organization.  Incoming Directors include:

John Harbison from Palos Verdes, CA is Chairman Emeritus of Tech Coast Angels and serves on the board for Connected Signals, GrandPad and the Greater Los Angeles Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America.

Pat LaPointe joins from Bozeman, MT is the Managing Director of Frontier Angels and the Director of Early Stage Montana.  Pat is also a member of the Alliance of Angels, Desert Angels, E8 Angels, Gopher Angels, Rockies Venture Club and Tech Coast Angels.

ACA’s current Vice Chair and Chairman of Queen City Angels, Tony Shipley, will be stepping in to the role of Board Chair beginning July 1, 2019.  Kevin Learned, of Boise Angel Alliance, will begin his second term and his new role as Vice Chair.  

Elaine Bolle and Angela Jackson will also begin their second term on July 1, 2019.  ACA thanks our members leaving the board for their hard work during their terms, Trish Costello of Portfolia, Matt Dunbar of VentureSouth, Steve Flaim of Tech Coast Angels and Parker MacDonell of Ohio TechAngel Funds.  We especially want to give thanks and gratitude to Linda Smith of Sierra Angels for her service as ACA’s Board Chair.  The contributions of these individuals have enhanced the angel investor community and the Angel Capital Association.