Congratulations to the 2014 Award Winners!

Winners of these two prestigious awards were announced on March 27th at the ACA Summit.  If you know of a worthy candidate, please stay tuned and nominate them in 2015.  Learn about both the award winners and the great leaders for whom we have named these awards below. 

Jean Hammond, 2014 Hans Severiens Award Winner
Individual who advances the field of angel investing

Jean is a successful serial entrepreneur with more than 20 years of experience in the high-tech industry. She is an investor and member of Hub Angels, Launchpad Venture Group and Boston chapter of Golden Seeds. Founder of to bring support, community and peer learning to the important future economic cluster in ed tech in New England. Founder of LearnLaunchX education and learning oriented accelerator.

She has played an active board level role with over 20 of her many angel investments.  Her activities with nonprofits include being on the board of Thompson Island Outward Bound and The Technology Capital Network. She co-founded Quarry Technologies and AXON Networks. She earned an M.S. from the MIT Sloan School of Management.

Read more about Jean on our blog and press release.

Photo shows ACA Chair David Verrill with award winner Jean Hammond and Michael Krasner.

EyeVerify, 2014 Luis Villalobos Award Winner
ACA member portfolio company honored for innovation & ingenuity

EyeVerify turns a picture of your eye into a key that protects your digital life so that you can have a password free mobile experience.  EyeVerify is the exclusive provider of Eyeprint Verification, a highly accurate biometric for mobile devices. This patented solution uses existing cameras on smart devices to image and pattern match the blood vessels in the whites of the eye. The Eyeprint biometric is encrypted to the device and never sent over the wire. Both iOS and Android devices are supported and only a 1MP camera is required.

Eye Verify was nominated by Mid-America Angels and has additional ACA members investors including Nebraska Angels & Women’s Capital Connection.

Read more about EyeVerify on our blog and press release.

Photo shows Dave McClure (500 Startups) with EyeVerify CEO Toby Rush and Rick Vaughn of Mid-America Angels.

More Information on the Awards and Selection Criteria

Hans Severiens Award (honoring individuals who advance angel investing)

The Hans Severiens Award is presented annually to recognize an individual's work in advancing the field of angel investing. Consideration for nomination is intentionally broad, from legislators to industry leaders to academia, in recognition of the broad reach and impact of angel investing. Individuals may be self or third-party nominated.

Criteria for selection include the following:
1. Depth and breadth of individual's impact on advancement of angel investing.
2. Leadership in bringing awareness to the vital role of angel investing in the support of entrepreneurial companies.
3. Contribution to the knowledge base of angel investing.
4. Respect and recognition by peers for contributions to the angel investment industry.
5. General accomplishments which have influenced or benefited the angel investment community.

Hans Severiens Award Nomination Form and Rules

Luis Villalobos Award (honoring innovative companies funded by ACA members)

The Luis Villalobos Award recognizes the most ingenious and innovative idea recently financed by one of the member angel groups of the Angel Capital Association. This is a great opportunity for portfolio companies to network with investors and also be seen by large corporations that are looking to connect with promising startups that could become partners.

New in 2014! Three Finalist companies were selected and invited to attend the ACA Summit.  The three finalists were honored and the award was presented to Toby Rush, CEO of EyeVerify on March 27th at the 2014 ACA Summit.  Summit registration for the finalists and travel costs for the winner were covered by the award organizers.  

Luis Villalobos Award Nomination Form and Rules