Hans Severiens Award   Luis Villalobos Award

Nominations are Closed for 2018

Luis Villalobos Award 
Honoring innovative companies funded by ACA members

The Luis Villalobos Award recognizes the most ingenious and innovative idea recently financed by one of the member angel groups of the Angel Capital Association. This is a great opportunity for portfolio companies to network with investors and also be seen by large corporations that are looking to connect with promising startups that could become partners.

Three Finalist companies are selected and invited to attend the ACA Summit.  The three finalists will be honored and the award will be presented at a special ceremony on April 19, 2018 at the ACA Summit.  Summit registration for the finalists and travel costs for the winner are covered by the award organizers.  

Benefits to Selected Finalists: 

  • One ticket to the 2018 ACA Summit in Boston (April 18-20, 2018)
  • Chance to speak briefly about your company during the awards ceremony to the plenary audience
  • Access to a shared exhibit table throughout the event for meetings and contacts. 
  • PR about their selection as a 2018 Finalist and/or Winner.
  • The winning company will also receive travel expenses. 

Participation Costs: 

  • There are no costs to participate in this awards program.  
  • Finalist companies do need to cover theirown travel to the ACA Summit location. As noted above each Finalist is provided a comp to attend the event and other benefits. 

Learn about Magnetic Insight - 2017 Luis Villalobos Award Winner

                                    View previous winners

Complete the Nomination: 

Luis Villalobos Award Nomination Form and Rules - Angel and Company portions included (pdf) (Word version of application)


Company Nomination Online Form / Angel Nomination Online Form (both required)

Hans Severiens Award 

Honoring individuals who advance angel investing

The Hans Severiens Award is presented annually to recognize an individual's work in advancing the field of angel investing. Consideration for nomination is intentionally broad, from legislators to industry leaders to academia, in recognition of the broad reach and impact of angel investing. Individuals may be self or third-party nominated.

Criteria for selection include the following:
1. Depth and breadth of individual's impact on advancement of angel investing.
2. Leadership in bringing awareness to the vital role of angel investing in the support of entrepreneurial companies.
3. Contribution to the knowledge base of angel investing.
4. Respect and recognition by peers for contributions to the angel investment industry.
5. General accomplishments which have influenced or benefited the angel investment community.

Hans Severiens Award Nomination Form and Rules (pdf) - Also available online

Learn about Catherine Mott - 2017 Winner of the Hans Severiens Award

View previous winners

Questions? Please Contact Sarah Dickey, Angel Capital Association